Best AI alarm clock apps for iPhone in 2026
An AI alarm clock either wakes you with a voice reading your day, works out when you sleep most lightly, or forces you out of bed with a task. Here is how six apps differ on what they do, how they ring, and what they cost.
Updated · by the TARS team, I12Y LTD
An AI alarm clock either speaks to you when you wake up in the morning (TARS, AVA, MorningCall) or works out when you sleep best (Sleep Cycle, Rise). Alarmy combines a mission alarm with an AI sleep report that tracks your sleep and wakes you with a task.
Six AI alarm apps for iPhone side by side
| App | What the AI does | How it rings | Price (US App Store) | Rating, last update |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alarmy | Missions to dismiss: math, memory game, shaking, squats, photo of a place. Power-off prevention, anti-snooze. Snore and sleep tracker. | Not stated on App Store page. Minimum iOS 17. | Free. Premium tiers from $4.99, several monthly and yearly plans. | 4.8 from 248,000 ratings. Updated October 7, 2026. |
| AVA | Spoken wake-up written each morning based on your goals, streaks and weather. Reads Google Calendar and tasks from Todoist, TickTick, Notion, Jira, Asana, Linear. Several coach voices. | Does not state on App Store page. Minimum iOS 17. | Free. AVA Pro $9.99 a month, $59.99 a year. | 1 rating. Updated October 6, 2026. |
| MorningCall | Places a real phone call with a generated briefing: news headlines, local weather, a motivational line. Does not read your calendar. | Yes, rings on Silent because it is a phone call. | Free. Pro $4.99 to $6.19. | 4.7 from 175 ratings. Updated August 23, 2026. |
| Rise | Tracks sleep debt and energy, suggests when to sleep and wake, smart alarm, calendar integration. | Not stated. Minimum iOS 15.1. | Free. Membership from $35.99 to $69.99 a year. | 4.7 from 71,000 ratings. Updated October 6, 2026. |
| Sleep Cycle | Listens to your sleep through the microphone and rings during a light phase inside a wake-up window. Sleep tracker and AI sleep coach. | Not stated. Minimum iOS 16.2. | Free. Premium plans from $2.99 to $57.99. | 4.7 from 30,000 ratings. Updated October 2, 2026. |
| TARS | British voice says your name and ends with a question. One tap reads weather, calendar and reminders in about a minute. No snooze button. TARS+ adds a wake-up check that rings again if you are not up. | Yes. Built on Apple's AlarmKit, iOS 26.1 or later. | Alarm, spoken wake-up and on-device briefing free. TARS+ $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year after a 7-day trial. | Released September 2026, no ratings yet. Updated September 28, 2026. |
We make TARS, so read that row the way you would read any vendor's list. Facts about the other apps come from their US App Store pages and websites on October 9, 2026. Prices change.
Two kinds of AI alarm
AI alarm clocks come in two kinds. Some speak to you when you wake: your name, the weather, your first meeting, all in a real voice. Others work out when you are sleeping most lightly and ring you then, so you wake less groggy. Alarmy sits between: it wakes you with a task to do, and then tracks your sleep.
Why AI alarm apps used to die on iPhone
Avo, an AI voice alarm with character voices, was last updated in October 2023 and still lists iOS 16 as its minimum. It is a useful warning. Before iOS 26 a third-party alarm could not ring the way Apple's Clock does. It was either a notification with a short sound, which the Silent switch and Focus modes muted, or an app that played audio while it stayed open, which iOS would eventually close. A voice generated on a server made it worse: if the network or the app was asleep at six in the morning, so were you.
AlarmKit, added in iOS 26, gives third-party apps the same system alarm as the Clock. That is why the newest apps in this category require iOS 26, and why the question to ask any AI alarm is simple: what rings if the AI part fails? For TARS the answer is a recorded wake-up phrase stored on the phone; the generated briefing comes after you tap.
What the AI reads, and where
A briefing needs your calendar and tasks, so look at how each app gets them. AVA connects Google Calendar and task services such as Todoist, Notion and Jira through their cloud accounts. MorningCall reads public news and weather, not your calendar. TARS reads the iPhone's own Calendar and Reminders on the device. For the free briefing nothing leaves the phone. For a TARS+ briefing the day's event titles are sent once to write and voice it, and location is rounded to about a kilometre for the weather.
None of this is a reason to avoid an app. It is a reason to read the permission prompt before you tap Allow.
How to choose
- You turn the alarm off half asleep and do not remember. A mission alarm (Alarmy) makes that impossible. TARS+ handles it differently: a wake-up check a few minutes later asks if you are really up and rings again if there is no answer. For more strategies, read the heavy sleeper guide.
- You wake up but feel wrecked. Sleep Cycle and Rise aim at the timing of the alarm rather than its loudness: ring during a light sleep phase, or ring at a time that fits your sleep debt.
- You wake up fine but lie there. A voice that tells you the weather and your first meeting gives you something to get up for. That is the TARS and MorningCall approach. For more on voice briefings, read the morning briefing guide.
- You just want a louder alarm. No app can go above the iPhone's ringer volume. Put the phone across the room instead, or read the heavy sleeper guide for other tactics.
FAQ
What is an AI alarm clock?
An AI alarm clock reads your calendar, weather or sleep data and either wakes you at a time matched to your sleep phase, or plays a spoken message that uses that data. Some add missions or games you have to complete to dismiss the alarm.
Which AI alarm reads my calendar out loud?
TARS and AVA both read calendars aloud. TARS reads your calendar and reminders directly from your phone. AVA reads from Google Calendar and task apps you have already connected.
Do AI alarm apps ring when the iPhone is on Silent?
Apps built on Apple's AlarmKit in iOS 26 ring through Silent mode because they use the system alarm. TARS states it is built on AlarmKit. For others, check the App Store page or test with Silent on.
Is there a free AI alarm clock for iPhone?
Yes. All six apps here have a free tier. The free versions of TARS, Sleep Cycle and MorningCall cover the core alarm. Alarmy and Rise lock the best features behind a subscription. Apple's Clock app is free and rings through Silent, but it has no AI or voice.
Does Apple's Clock app have an AI alarm?
Not directly. The Clock app has no voice and no missions. You can use Shortcuts to run a script when an alarm fires: Get Current Weather, Find Calendar Events, Speak Text can combine into a free spoken briefing in Siri's voice.
An alarm with an agent inside
TARS wakes you by speaking your name and the day's weather and events, with no account, no ads and no tracking. Free alarm and spoken wake-up on AlarmKit, iOS 26.1 or later.
Sources
- Alarmy on the App Store
- AVA on the App Store
- MorningCall on the App Store
- Rise on the App Store
- Sleep Cycle on the App Store
- Avo on the App Store
- TARS on the App Store
- AlarmKit, Apple Developer Documentation